Time of change for Temuka Lions

20:05, Jul 09 2012

The Temuka Pakeke Lions Club held their changeover meeting recently at the Temuka Golf Club.

Outgoing president Alan Smith opened proceedings by welcoming club members and special guests, including regional chairwoman Lorna Inch, past district governors Roger Lake, Sandra Gray and Gaye Broker, and zone 2 chairman Neville Robertson.

New president Gavin Somerville and the new board were inducted for the 2012-13 year. In his report, Mr Smith thanked all club members for their hard work. During the 2011-12 year, the club put more than $18,000 back into the community, an increase of about $5000 over the previous year.

The biggest project was fundraising for the MRI Scanner Appeal in a joint effort with zones 2 and 3 of District 202J. Temuka made an initial donation of $5000 last November, followed by a further donation of $2000 this year.

Mr Smith thanked the individual involved who formed the teams responsible for the growing of potatoes and pumpkins, the chopping and bagging of kindling wood, and the management of the mini golf course, all of which contributed income for the club.

Other activities and projects included the donation of a barbecue to the Temuka swimming pool and the installation of a garden seat, donated by Ben and Yshbel Glass, for the St Leonards St Reserve.


The club was saddened by the passing of Bett Wilson, chairman of the Temuka Pakeke Charitable Trust, in April, and of Peter Dodson, raffle convener and club historian, in May.

Both men were highly respected and valued members.

Roger Lake presented Ben Glass with life membership of the Lloyd Morgan Lions Club's Charitable Trust in recognition of his long service and immense contribution to the Temuka Pakeke Lions Club.

He also presented Mr Glass with a 40-year service award.

A special president's award of appreciation was presented to Albert Peattie for his services to the club.

The Timaru Herald