Bay carnival in for stir-up

20:43, Oct 31 2012
caroline bay carnival
CARNIVAL FUN: The chair-o-plane ride at the Caroline Bay Carnival remains popular.

The Caroline Bay Association is trimming fat while also attempting to liven up the carnival.

Secretary Kevin Fahey has replaced long-time promoter Barry Croft as entertainment manager, contributing to a $25,000 saving for the concert entertainment.

Long-serving MC Noel Burns will also be another notable absence this year, with new president Kevin Ancell saying he will be replaced by Caroline Bay Association member Shane Clarke who will not be paid for his services.

Mr Burns said he had told the association last year that he felt he should have a year off. "It's highly probable that I've finished as compere of the Caroline Bay Carnival."

Entertainment for the 2012 carnival has been budgeted at about $50,000 where previously it had cost up to $75,000.

Mr Ancell, who became president at the association's annual meeting earlier this year, has promised the next carnival will be younger and fresher.


"It's a whole new lineup with the encouragement of a younger, more modern set."

The carnival came under fire in 2010 with claims the 100th event looked drab and tired.

Only one artist who had not featured previously performed at the centennial celebrations.

Mr Fahey says the move to in-house promotion has contributed to securing acts earlier and with a fresher look.

"They decided to do it a bit more in-house; it allowed us to organise it a bit earlier to promote who is coming."

The carnival runs from December 26 until January 8 then takes a couple of days break before the wrap-up on January 12 and 13.

It opens with a Boxing Day performance featuring Phil Doublet and Kaylee Bell and an evening concert from the Dutch Nightingales school choir.

Shane Cortese is back along with Chet O'Connell, Melissa O'Connell, Midge Marsden, Frankie Stevens, The Black Velvet Band, Sha-Low Band and Laura Bunting.

The Beat Girls from Wellington will perform a two hour New Year's Eve show.

The new year line-up includes Camille Te Nahu and Stuie French from Australia, The New Entrants Band, The Howard Morrison Junior Trio, The Impact Dance Group, Annah Mac, Marion Burns and Barry Saunders.

The talent quest will be held on January 12 and 13.

The Timaru Herald