Baird outstrips rivals

22:20, May 13 2014

Mark Baird out-sprinted a group of 25 riders to win Cycling Timaru's 40km race around Totara Valley.

Baird, riding off the six-minute mark, won in 1hr 6min 20sec, from David Whittaker with Gary Burtenshaw third. Three minutes elapsed before the scratch riders sprinted for fastest time honours with Josh Connor recording 1hr 6sec from Jeff Best.

In the under-17 race Bailey O' Donnell turned in a top effort to win the 16km race in 29min 5sec from Gabriel Evans with Regan Holland third, recording the fastest time of 26min 7sec.

The development grade raced over 6km with limit rider Maddy Wilson putting in a strong ride to win in 16min 32sec. Fastest time went to Jaxton Whyte in 16min 56sec.


The Timaru Herald