Kyle Wood takes out cycling's Memorial Cup

19:14, Jul 08 2014
Tim Rush leads Reon Park and Kyle Wood
WORKING TOGETHER: Tim Rush leads Reon Park and Kyle Wood in Cycling Timaru’s A grade 50km race. Wood went on to win in a sprint finish.

Kyle Wood was a deserving winner of Cycling Timaru's Les Allan Memorial Cup.

Wood won the A grade 50km race around the Totara Valley-Raincliff area in 1hr 10min 8sec. He edged out Tim Rush in the sprint from Reon Park.

In the B grade, the 14-strong field had split in two as the riders sprinted for line honours with Mike Jenson winning well from John Edmonson and Ian Kirkman in 1hr 18min 16sec to take out the McCormick Trophy.

The 21 starters in the C grade was reduced to nine as the final sprint began with Wayne Anderson taking out the Speight Shield with a solid finish in 1hr 21min 45sec from Greg Harrison and Conrad Van Der Geeste.

Julieann Archbold continued her winning ways in the D grade, winning the Graeme Gliddon Memorial Trophy in 1hr 32min 38sec from Grant Shortus and Colin Teahan.

Archbold leads the season points series from Graeme Legg and Hamish McDonald.

In the under-17 20km graded scratch race, Cameron Prattley won the A section unopposed, due to school holiday absences, in 15min 47sec. A strong ride saw Jonathon Fish take out the B section in 15min 47sec from Mitchell Fitzsimmons and Erin Hall.

In the development grade, Kelsey James won the A grade well from Oliver Smith and Thomas Allan in 18min 13sec, while the B grade saw Alex Baird in top form winning from Lyndon Olds and Tim Sorenson in 18min 22sec.


The Timaru Herald