TBHS, Ashburton win

21:20, Nov 04 2012

Timaru Boys' High School and Ashburton College were the respective winners of the Aoraki Secondary School Junior Tennis Championships for year 9 and 10 students.

Thirteen teams competed over three grades, with some closely contested battles.

In the boys, TBHS won all three matches of the round robin, which gave them the title over last year's winners, Roncalli College, with Ashburton close behind in third.

The girls grade had six teams entered, with Ashburton beating Waitaki Girls' High School in a playoff after both teams won three ties, with Craighead third.

In the playoff, Ashburton College came out on top after Ashleigh Leonard, Christal Brosnahan and Larissa Allan won their singles convincingly, with Waitaki's Emma Gawn a 6-4 victor over Ashburton's Fran Connelly-Whyte.

Craighead's Annabel Ellis put on a good display, with Waitaki's Rebecca Dellaway the only player to win a game off her.


For TBHS their No 1, Jack Deeley, did not drop a singles game while Josh Reddecliffe and brothers Angus and Hugh Rollinson backed up Deeley well.

Second-placed Roncalli won two games but were then well beaten 6-0 by TBHS.

A tight mixed-grade contest was won by St Kevin's College from Ashburton and Roncalli.

Remaining unbeaten in singles for Ashburton was Beth Muir.

The Timaru Herald