Gould sprints to club honours

19:20, Nov 07 2012

Glen Gould outsprinted Jeff Best and Bill Gibbs to win the opening night of the St Andrews Cycling Club's summer series.

Gould recorded 24min, 24sec for the 16km ride.

In the B grade race, Brian Bennett won in 27m 30s, from Ben Sorenson and Wayne Anderson.

The closest finish of the night was in the C grade race, with Chris Stringer overpowering club president Graeme Legg and Tony Giles in a good time of 29m 38s.

The D grade event featured several new riders competing with Cliff Rawson.

Rawson won from Harlequins prop Grant George and handbike racer Jono Nelson.


The novice race was contested by nine riders over 8km.

First on a sealed handicap was Jack Lister, from India Domigan and Tim Sorenson.

However, the fastest time went to Brady Mercer.

In Saturday's event, Stringer sprinted clear to win the Beban Cup.

Forty riders were split into several groups, with the third limit moving well to catch the outward riders on the 35km journey.

The group of 12 was able to hold out the chasing packs to take overall honours, with Stringer holding out Giles, Craig Mercer and Gordon Duff.

Bill Gibbs took out the fastest time from Sam Thomas, recording 52m 53s.

South Canterbury