Look of youth in Sth Canty team

Robin Beeby
Robin Beeby

Opportunities continue to present themselves for up-and-coming South Canterbury cricketers under new head coach Robin Beeby.

Beeby and selector John Davies have continued their youthful trend in picking a 12-man South Canterbury squad to play against Otago Metropolitan in the annual Mark Parker Memorial match at Aorangi Oval tomorrow.

The game is in memory of the 27-year-old cricketer, who was killed in the 2002 Bali bombings. He went to Timaru Boys' High School and also played for South Canterbury.

The match had traditionally been played after the Hawke Cup season but has been moved forward to act as a warm-up game and a chance for rising talent to impress.

Timaru Boys' High School wicket-keeper batsman, Michael Hogan, will take the gloves from Celtic's Jacob Naylor.

No Celtic players, with the exception of Sam Carlaw, are available for the match as they had already scheduled a game since it was their bye week in the club competition.

Carlaw will captain South Canterbury.

Beeby said no disciplinary action had been taken against Naylor after he failed to show up for the team bus for the match against Mid Canterbury last weekend and he was still firmly in the frame for a recall for the next match.

Timaru's two Indian imports, batsman Srinivas KS and allrounder Abhishek Baadkar will also play in the match, despite arriving in New Zealand earlier this week.

Last year's South Canterbury captain, Richie Preston, will return at the top of the order, while last week's captain Nick Horsley and Waimate captain Glen Drake are unavailable.

Two former Mark Parker Scholarship winners, Blair Brown and Jeremy Lane, will also play in the match.

Beeby said several players should consider the match a trial for a possible call-up for Hawke Cup fixtures.

"For the likes of Sam Porter and Zane (Sanders), it's another opportunity.

"It's another chance for those kind of young players to get runs on the board against a good bowling attack."

Beeby said the batsman-friendly Aorangi Oval pitch should also help.

The match starts at 11am.

South Canterbury team: R Preston, Srinivas KS, Z Sanders, S Carlaw, J Dick, S Porter, M Woods, M Hogan, A Baadkar, B Brown, N McNicol, J Lane

The Timaru Herald