Coach content to run with change

19:56, Nov 16 2012
robin beeby
Robin Beeby

The rotation policy continues as South Canterbury cricket coach Robin Beeby looks for his best 11 players heading into the Hawke Cup campaign.

South Canterbury have their penultimate warmup in a 50-over match against Christchurch Metropolitan at Aorangi Oval tomorrow and it appears some players have the inside running for the first Hawke Cup match against North Otago early next month.

Johnny Geddis has been handed the wicket-keeping duties ahead of Celtic's Jacob Naylor who has not earned a recall after missing the team bus for the match in Mid-Canterbury a fortnight ago.

Beeby said he liked the balance Geddis offered, given he could also open the batting.

Celtic spinner Sam Carlaw will captain the side, while one-time captain Nick Horsley is back to bolster the top-order as is current Celtic captain Craig Davies.

All three men are spin options which excited Beeby as the Aorangi Oval pitch tends to offer a bit more for the spinners than the quicks. Timaru batsmen Sam Porter and Zane Sanders both get another chance to force their way into the Hawke Cup team.


In-form Waimate batsman Glen Drake and Temuka seamer Nathan McNicol are unavailable but may return for the final warmup match against North Otago in Oamaru next weekend.

English import Matt Woods has been offered the chance to bounce back from conceding 94 runs in 10 overs against Otago Metropolitan last weekend.

South Canterbury are allowed only one overseas player in their Hawke Cup team and Woods was the frontrunner but Beeby and selector John Davies have also picked Timaru's Indian import, Srinivas KS, for tomorrow, which suggests Woods' place may not be safe.

Roncalli turned Celtic speedster Ben Watson gets a recall to test his nagging shoulder injury, while Star's Craig Hinton will also play.

There is no room for Temuka veteran Kevin Teahen.

The match begins at 11am.


Sam Carlaw (c), Craig Davies, James Laming, Johnny Geddis, Nick Horsley, Srinivas KS, Zane Sanders, Sam Porter, Craig Hinton, Ben Watson, Matt Woods.

The Timaru Herald