Waimate's winning lineup

18:46, Nov 18 2012
Bowls STD
WINNERS: The Waimate team came through worthy winners of the annual South Canterbury Fours Championship.

The Waimate team of Liz Law, Carol Clarke, Rosina Beker and Maria Griffin were worthy winners of the annual South Canterbury Fours Bowls Championship at the Timaru Greens on Saturday.

The Kia Toa team of Janice Styles, June Cronin, Maureen Leonard and Kay Gill were in touch for most of the game but were unlucky and came unstuck on the third-to-last end, conceding seven shots which saw the final margin balloon to 20-8.

Earlier in the match both sides were playing solid shots although Waimate always had the edge. The game finished on the 13th end.

Six teams qualified for post-section play and in the early round, Kia Toa took out last year's winners the Timaru Town and Country Club team of Cathy Richards, Shirley Whyte, Pat Parker and Mary Lemon 13-8.

In the first semifinal the Timaru team of Pam Shirtcliffe, Madelaine Lowrie, Margaret May and Sally McFetrick lost to Waimate's team 8-13. The second game was between Fairlie's team of Maureen McColl, Barbara Tiffen, Linda Gallagher and Doreen Inder and Kia Toa with Jan Styles and her team always in control winning well at 17-5 on the 12th end.

The Waimate team now plays in the Pathways at Dunedin next year.


The Timaru Herald