Speed gives Adams win

19:34, Nov 26 2012

Experienced rider Nathan Adams has won the Timaru Cycling Club Bert Thin Trophy race.

Racing was spirited but Adams showed his training is well on track with a well-deserved victory.

Forty-five riders were split into eight bunches by the handicapper for the 55- kilometre, two-lap, Waitohi race.

The wind picked up and made for tough racing but through the middle stages the mid-markers, Alistair McMillan, Wayne Anderson, Denise Keenan and Graeme Gliddon, swept all before them and made a dash for the finish line.

Behind them, however, Adams, Phil Burtenshaw, James Lithgow and Gary Lister were also working extremely well together.

They caught the front markers with just 2km to go.

In the sprint to the line Adams used his track experience, pace and power to take the winner's spoils ahead of Keenan and Lister.

In the race for the fastest time, the Maurice and Karl Thin Trophy, it was the scratch pair of Tim Rush and Glenn Gould that took the honours.


The Timaru Herald