Team effort secures gold

Waimate's Dylan Kennett struck gold on the opening night of finals at the Oceania Track Cycling Championships in Adelaide.

A superb team effort led to victory for Kennett in the 15km scratch race.

Te Awamutu rider Hayden McCormick pushed to the front with nine laps remaining while Kennett and Pieter Bulling latched on behind.

The Waikato rider produced a powerful display of time trialling to remain in front until two laps remaining before Kennett took over. Kennett then pushed clear to claim the win with Bulling holding off Australian world junior omnium champion Caleb Ewan for second.

Kennett, 17, had just returned from Scotland where he finished fourth in the individual pursuit at his first elite UCI World Cup.

Waimate's second representative in the New Zealand team Holly Edmondston finished 15th in the the under-19 7.5km scratch race. New Zealand sprinters Katie Schofield and Eddie Dawkins grabbed three medals between them.

In scorching conditions Schofield partnered London Olympian Natasha Hansen to win the team sprint.

The Otago rider then finished second to Olympic medallist Kaarle McCulloch in the 500m time trial.

Dawkins dominated to win the men's 1000m time trial, finishing more than two seconds clear of fellow Southlander Cam Karwowski, and establishing a personal best in the process.

Schofield and Hansen topped qualifiers and improved in the evening final to record 34.450sec, close to their best time, to beat home Australians Rikki Belder and Stephanie Morton who clocked 34.622sec.

Schofield clocked a classy 35.342sec in the 500m time trial with the Australian winning in 34.260. Southland's former triple junior world championship medallist Steph McKenzie was third in 35.562.

Dawkins, only back into full training four weeks ago, reeled off a world class time to win the men's 1000m in 1:01.363.

The other medal performance went to Christchurch's Alice Hay who took out the junior women's scratch race.

She chased home Josie Talbot in a sprint finish but the Australian was relegated for not holding her line in the sprint.

Kennett also rode in the 4000m team pursuit with Scott Creighton, McCormick and Bulling but finished eight seconds behind the Australians who stopped the clock at 4min 02.106sec for gold.

South Canterbury