Gould upsets top duo

18:29, Dec 11 2012
glen gould
Cyclist Glen Gould

Glenn Gould took out the Timaru Cycling Club's Ron Holmes Shield race in an exciting finish.

Forty-nine riders, in four grades, tackled four laps of the testing Whalebones-Brockley Rd course in the 45km race.

In A grade, the nine starters included Olympians Shane Archbold and Marc Ryan, along with top local riders Reon Park, Tim Rush and Andy van der Heyden.

The pace of the race was extremely tough, and was soon being contested by only five of the original starters, with Gould hanging in against the odds.

In the frenetic sprint for the line, Gould was able to latch onto the wheel of Archbold and use all of his competitive willpower to edge ahead of his rivals in the closing metres.

Ryan came a close second, followed by Archbold.


In B grade, Luke Hurring won the Tozier Cup after a solo ride.

Bill Gibbs and Phil Burtenshaw were strong through the mid-stages but a well-timed attack by Hurring proved the decisive move on the day.

He rode away from the bunch with just over a lap to go. While the chasing bunch was slowly catching up, they were not organised enough to seriously threaten Hurring. Sam Gray and Ben Sorenson led home the chasing pack.

In C grade, the competitors provided a spirited race. Some strong attacks by Kevin Hessell, were continually chased down by the bunch.

In the sprint, Tom Faulkner proved too strong over Wayne Anderson and Hessell to take home the Rickard Cup.

In D grade, Julianne Archbold secured a popular victory to win the Terry Wilson Rosebowl in another sprint finish.

Maria Earl and Tony Giles made strong contributions through the mid-stages.

However, in the end, it was Archbold who showed great speed to beat the ever-present Gordon Duff and Rebecca Brooks.

The Timaru Herald