It's all happening in the eights on busy finals day

19:21, Feb 21 2013

The club eights provided the most drama of the 10 finals at the National Rowing Championships on Lake Ruataniwha yesterday.

Timaru's win in the women's club eight came with some drama, when race leaders North Shore caught a crab with 100m to go, which deprived the crowd of an interesting battle between them and the fast-finishing Timaru crew.

Hawke's Bay had to fight off a valiant challenge from the schoolboys of Christ's College to win the men's club eight.

The crew of James McAnallen, Troy O'Reilly, Tom MacKintosh, Stephen Vanderpeet, Michael Vanderpeet, Hamish Boult and cox Sarah Boyle held on to win the race.

The. Aramaho/Wanganui 1 crew of Riley Wyeth, Rayelynn Bracket, Sammy Murphy, Georgia Nugent-O'Leary (stroke) and cox Savanna Gaskell were inaugural winners of the women's novice coxed quadruple sculls after they lead their final from start to finish, as they seemingly got stronger with every stroke.

They beat runners-up Auckland by more than nine seconds, with Star third.


The men's senior coxless four final was decided in the final 1000m when the North Shore crew of Craig Little, Ryan Kelleher, Liam Kettle and Michael Brake left the rest of the crews battling for the minor podium places.

There were just two crews in the women's premier coxless quad, with the Central RPC combination of Sarah Gray, Genevieve Armstrong, Zoe Stevenson and Julia Edwards beating Central by two boat-lengths after they pulled away in the final 500m.

Three RPC crews competed in the final of the men's under-22 eight.

Waikato led all the way with Jeff Francis, Christopher Morrison, Shaun Kirkham, Alex Kennedy, Evan Kennedy, McKenzie Macky, Patrick McInnes, Logan Rodger and cox Caleb Shepherd beating Auckland by just under a length after fending off their challenge late in the race.

Defending champions Waihopai had a tense battle with the two Avon crews in the final of the women's senior coxless fours.

In the end, it was the the No 2 crew of Alice Darry, Olivia Lissaman, Madelaine Ingham and Holly Greenslade which prevailed over Avon No 1 with Waihopai earning the bronze medal.

Southern got the best of the three-crew women's under-22 eight event.

The crew of Lisa Owen, Sophie Shingleton, Tessa Young, Esther Austin, Johannah Kearney, Kristen Froude, Phoebe Spoors, Olivia Loe and cox Lydia Milner got the better of Waikato in the charge for the line, with Central third.

The Whangarei crew of Adam McKernan, Sam Beazley, Josh Ackers, Alistair Clark and cox Kate Wilson produced a strong last 1000m to win the men's novice coxed quadruple sculls from Auckland.

Southern, anchored by Cohen brothers Hayden and Nathan, beat a fast-finishing Auckland to secure the men's premier coxless quad title.

Finals continue today and tomorrow.

The Timaru Herald