Timaru pair's gold hat-trick finish for club

19:04, Feb 24 2013
southern rpc
BIG BOAT WINNERS: Southern RPC won the premier coxed eight, from left, James Lessche, Armin Svobada, Nathan Flannery, Mark O'Connor, Jared Glue, Hayden Cohen, Jade Uru, Hamish Bond and cox Sam Bosworth.
nz rowing championships 2013
READY TO ROW: The men's club coxed four final at the start line on the final day of the national championships.
nz rowing championships 2013
HELPING HANDS: All the volunteers at the NZ rowing championships gather for a photo at the end of the regatta.
nz rowing championships 2013
UNDER WAY: The start of the women's premier coxed eight final between central RPC1 (front), Waikato RPC1 (middle) and Central RPC.
nz rowing championships 2013
BLAST OFF: The start of the men's premier coxed eight final at the NZ Rowing Championships on Lake Ruataniwha.
jacob page and john bisset
ROWING TRANSPORT: Timaru Herald chief photographer John Bisset didn't waste his energy running up and down the shoreline of the 2km-long lake course. Instead he took along his own transport and even condescended to give Herald reporter Jacob Page a lift.
timaru rowing club
TIMARU TOPS: Erica Taylor and Emma Weith (back boat) on their way to gold, being chased by clubmates Renee Olley and Alice Murdoch.
nz rowing champs 2013
SPECIAL MOMENT: Governor-General Sir Jerry Mateparae presents Nathan Cohen with the trophy for male Rower of the Year at the national championships at Lake Ruataniwha.

Emma Weith and Erica Taylor capped a stunning National Rowing Championships for the Timaru Rowing Club by winning the club's third gold medal, in the women's under-19 double sculls.

Timaru had just 15 of the 700-plus rowers competing at the regatta, but their three-gold and three-bronze medal haul had them place sixth in the Centennial Oar standings, which calculate the best-performing club of the regatta, which finished on Saturday.

Despite the calm conditions on Lake Ruataniwha, there was anything but a calm start to the finals day for the team.

Emma Weith and Erica Taylor
GOLDEN MOMENT: Emma Weith, Erica Taylor and coach Dean Milne celebrate their win in the women’s under-19 double on the final day of the National Rowing Championships on Lake Ruataniwha.

Paige Cook suffered a back injury on Friday and was unable to compete in any finals on the last day.

Coach Dean Milne was forced into a quick reshuffle of his crews, with the experienced Taylor a late ring-in to partner Weith in the under 19 double sculls.

The move cost Taylor and Emma Dyke their spot in the under-20 pair final, however, it was decided Taylor and Weith had a better chance of a medal.


The decision proved correct as no crew could match Timaru's acceleration over the last 500m.

Milne said the silver medallists from Otago were the only real threat.

"That Otago crew sneaked up on us, and I felt like they were the only ones who go with us and sprint, but my girls were excellent." Alice Murdoch and Renee Olley finished seventh in the same race.

The women's under-19 coxed four of Emma Dyke, Murdoch, Harriet Sutton, Surrey Collett and cox Zoe Dobbs finished fourth in their final.

PRECIOUS METAL Timaru Rowing Club's medal haul Three gold Women's club eight: Emma Weith, Erica Taylor, Paige Cook, Harriet Sutton, Alice Murdoch, Emma Weith, Renee Olley, Surrey Collett and cox Zoe Dobs Women's senior coxless pair: Emma Weith and Emma Dyke Women's under-19 double sculls: Emma Weith and Erica Taylor Three bronze Men's novice double sculls: Sam Thomson and Sam Dick Women's club double: Renee Olley and Erica Taylor Men's club single sculls: James Walker

The Timaru Herald