South Canterbury skaters collect 25 road titles

Last updated 05:00 03/01/2014

Relevant offers

South Canterbury speed skaters won 25 of the 48 road titles contested at the national championships in Auckland on Wednesday.

Winners of the other titles were Mt Wellington six, Kapiti six, Hamilton six and Wanganui five.

The Unity Shield for top New Zealand main club overall points went to South Canterbury with 122 points, followed by Wanganui 45, Hamilton 37, Mt Wellington 27 and Kapiti 24.

After the rain break the club finished on a high note with Nicole Begg, Judah Kelly and Analiese Le Roy winning the senior ladies 5000 metres relay, with another strong finishing effort by Begg.

The junior girls' 3000 relay was a disaster on the first lap when Charlotte Clarke crashed, then Jazmyn McAuley having to do a double lap on the 351-metre Mt Wellington Go Cart track venue, to close down the gap.

Ella Benson came in and South Canterbury opened a gap and went on to win ahead of Wanganui, with the South Canterbury B team of Neve O'Connor, Ayla Preston and Erin Hall gaining bronze.

Indoor track racing continues through until tomorrow.

Ad Feedback

- © Fairfax NZ News

Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content