Sports awards make welcome return

NOMINEE: Keanu Darby, of Temuka.
NOMINEE: Keanu Darby, of Temuka.

The Temuka Sportsperson of the Year is back after an absence of three years.

The Temuka Sports Group have taken over the event from the Pakeke Lions Club.

TSG spokesperson Ali Talbot said they are proud to run an event that showcases sporting talent and dedication, as well as the unsung heroes such as volunteers and administrators in Temuka sport and clubs.

Talbot said the previous sponsors of the event were only to pleased to be part of the 2013 awards.

Guest speaker for the awards, which are being held on Friday night at the Temuka Golf Club, is former world speed skating champion Nicole Begg.

Contenders for the big award of the night, the open sportsperson, are Keanu Darby (lawn bowls), Dianne Taylor (golf) and Nathan McNicol (cricket).

Other categories up for grabs include junior sportsperson, and teams.

The judges are David Fisher, Lee King and Kevin O'Sullivan. Tickets are $20 and available from Ali Talbot.


Team: Morgan Stevenson and Reani Ferrer (bowls), Temuka Golf Club 9-hole team, Opihi College senior A netball team, Temuka under-8, division 1 rugby team

Junior sportsperson: Finlay Joyce (squash, rugby, swimming, rowing), Tyler Smith (inline skating, hockey, triathlon, school sports)

Intermediate sportsperson: Jake McLachlan (golf), Keanu Darby (lawn bowls)

Open Sportsperson: Keanu Darby (lawn bowls), Dianne Taylor (golf), Nathan McNicol (cricket)

Administrator/volunteer: Trish Brown (squash), Heather George (rugby), Steve Fisher (rugby). Coach: Gary Prentice and Spike Bruce (squash), Blue Rooney, Dion Ayers, Nigel Cleverly (rugby), Dianne Manson (netball)

The Timaru Herald