Finalists 'reflect Waikato's resilience in tough times'

19:07, Sep 25 2012

When the going gets tough, the Waikato gets going.

That's the conclusion of the region's Property Council, which received 32 nominations for this year's We are Waikato awards despite the economic winter.

The council, which represents the region's commercial property investors, developers and landlords, has announced 20 finalists for the seven awards to be presented at a gala dinner on October 11 at the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts at Waikato University.

Last year's inaugural event attracted 29 nominations.

Regional president Robert Dol said the number and calibre of this year's lineup was a reflection of the Waikato's resilience in tough times.

The awards were launched to recognise people in property and their outstanding contributions to the Waikato property industry and local economy.


To register to attend the awards go to or email Tracey Plank at for more information.

Key award sponsors are Staples Rodway, Tainui Group Holdings, Holmes Consulting Group, Hawkins Construction, Fletcher Construction, Foster Construction, Arrow International, BNZ Partners and Fonterra.


Young Achiever of the Yearl– Steven Alsemgeest Memorial Award

Bevan Houlbrooke – CKL

Anna Wilkins – Traffic Design Group

Thomas Gibbons – McCaw Lewis Lawyers

Mike McLennan – Integrated Development Solutions 

Long Service Award for Outstanding Contribution

Ross Hargood – Sky City

Colin Jones – Commercial & Industrial Consultants

Rod Keucke – CKL

Ian Patton – Oakland Group

Property Industry Associate of the Year

Bevan Houlbrooke – CKL

John Neverman – McCaw Lewis Lawyers

Mark Apeldoorn – Traffic Design Group

Outstanding Leadership

Tony Begbie – WCA Trust

Simon Perry – Perry Group

Mayor Julie Hardaker – Hamilton City Council

Urban Design & Architectural Merit

MOAA, for Seddon Road office building

Safari Group, for Quest Apartments

HCC, Downer NZ, Reset Urban Design, for Worley Place shared zone

Best Regional Project Team

Mainzeal, for Braemar Hospital

Greenstone Group, for Te Awa

Hawkins Construction, for Turangawaewae Marae

Waikato Times