Waikato's 'great givers' recognised

03:01, Jun 23 2014
Rodger Gallagher
DEDICATED: Rodger Gallagher’s commitment to Raglan’s arts scene earned him top honours at the Waikato Volunteer Excellence Awards.

Arts scene identity Rodger Gallagher has been named Waikato's top volunteer at the annual Waikato Volunteer Excellence Awards.

Gallagher, named volunteer of the year at the Friday night ceremony, plays a large role in the Raglan arts scene, with his leadership turning Raglan's Art Centre into a thriving hub.

The Raglan Community Arts Council nominated Gallagher in recognition of the time and energy he had devoted to the community.

"He is one of life's great givers," the council said in its nomination.

Gallagher has been involved with the Old School Arts Centre since 2003 and has helped transform many events, including the Raglan Film Festival and the Annual Arts Trail, turning them from ideas into well-established events.

"Things are done quietly and efficiently, without making a fuss, and knowing that Rodger will always deliver on his promises lends credibility to every project he is involved in."


The awards ceremony at Wintec's Atrium honoured 31 nominees.

Volunteer of the year runner-up June Tata Herewini has a busy life, but she still finds time to help her community.

The youth volunteer award, introduced in 2010 in order to recognise and celebrate volunteers under 25, went to Jason Dockertyof Whitianga Youth Space.

Josh Nachowitz and Yannis Mea were runner-up and commended at the awards for their contribution.

The team excellence award recognised projects that aim to make community contributions through well-run programmes. This year's winner, the team at South Waikato Victim Support, work towards long-term positive social change. Volunteers are available around the clock to support people affected by crime and trauma.

Stroke Foundation Hamilton volunteer team and the literacy class volunteers of English language partners received runner-up and commendation awards. Out and About at the Volunteer Excellence Awards - page 12.