Waikato artistic efforts rewarded

17:00, Sep 17 2010

Up-and-coming talents as well as a couple of older hands were recognised at last night's Arts Waikato awards.

The event, held in the Concert Chamber at Waikato University's Wel Academy of Performing Arts, saw 15 scholarships awarded to people ranging from those studying for their bachelors degree to those studying for a PhD.

Eighteen-year-old Yaniv Janson has had paintings exhibited internationally and his scholarship will go towards a Diploma in Arts and Creativity (Hons) at the Learning Connexion in Wellington.

Rodger Gallagher and Yanny Split were each given Outstanding Service to the Arts awards, recognising their continued artistic influence on the Waikato region.

Mr Gallagher is chair of the Raglan Arts Council and was the key driver behind the development of the Old School Arts Centre in Raglan, which is a constant hive of activity for young and old in the town.

Ms Split has been similarly influential in Huntly, where she has worked with a wide range of groups and individuals to bring many creative events to Huntly and the Waikato, including wearable arts, a Huntly Arts Trail and Waikato World (an art and craft showcase).



Te Manaaroha Rollo – PHD (music/maori)

Yaniv Janson – Diploma (Hons) in Arts and Creativity

Nicholas Johnston – Bachelor of Media Arts (commercial)Kathleen Walsh – Bachelor of Music (performance)

Phillippa Ulenberg – Master of Music (composition)

Brendan Theodore – Bachelor of Arts (theatre/screen/media)

Ye Gon Ryoo – Bachelor of Music (classical performance)

Rafaella Garlick-Grice – Bachelor of Music (Hons)

Martin Kroon – Graduate Dip of Teaching ( music/drums)

Madeleine Griffiths – Bachelor of Music (performance)

Jo'el Komene – Bachelor of Maori visual arts

Moko Smith – Professional Theatre - France

Micah Puklowski – Master of Arts (media arts/film)

Shoshana Sachidhanandam – UCLA screenwriting online

Gregory Locke – Bachelor of Media Arts (Hons)

Waikato Times