Waikato lead top division after first day

16:00, Dec 04 2012

Waikato made an ideal start to the national men's interprovincial teams golf tournament in Dunedin yesterday with two convincing victories.

The young Waikato lineup saw off Hawke's Bay 4-1 in their morning encounter at the Otago Golf Club's Balmacewen course and then backed that up with a win over Taranaki by the same margin.

That left Waikato at the top of the division one standings.

Defending champions Southland are in second spot after playing just one match yesterday and scoring maximum points with a 5-0 thrashing of Aorangi, while Auckland also had an early bye and a 4-1 win over Hawke's Bay.

Te Awamutu teenager Compton Pikari, playing at No 1, was the only Waikato player to get beaten in their opening match when he succumbed 1-down to Hawke's Bay's Richard Squire, but bounced back in the afternoon to beat Taranaki's top player, Brad Hayward, 2 and 1.

Ngaruawahia's Luke Toomey was the sole defeated Waikato golfer against Taranaki, losing 1-down to Jaime Reid.


Waikato's three other representatives - Tom Brockelsby, Ho Jun Sung and Steven Kuggeleijn - each scored two wins, with Sung winning both his encounters 3 and 2.

The host side also made a promising beginning to the tournament, beating Poverty Bay 5-0 in the morning and then securing a 3-2 afternoon victory over North Harbour in testing winds.

Waikato have a bye this morning before meeting Southland in a key fourth-round afternoon clash.

Results: Waikato 4 Hawke's Bay 1: Compton Pikari lost to Richard Squire 1 up, Luke Toomey bt Ben Swinburne 4 and 3, Tom Brockelsby bt Russell Mitchell 4 and 2, Ho Jun Sung bt Max Gill 3 and 2, Steven Kuggeleijn bt Madison Noakes 1 up. Waikato 4 Taranaki 1: Pikari bt Brad Hayward 2 and 1, Toomey lost to Jaime Reid 1 down, Brockelsby bt Zac Lewis 2 and 1, Sung bt Joseph Doyle 3 and 2, Kuggeleijn bt Brook Gray 2 up

Waikato Times