Otorohanga take honours

16:00, Dec 16 2012

A high-scoring thriller rounded out the Peter Bennett Cup competition in Waikato Valley club cricket on Saturday.

After posting 300, Otorohanga beat Kaipaki by just five runs. While there was nothing on the line at the weekend, the teams will do battle again after Christmas as they progress to the six-team Champions Trophy competition. Hosts Kaipaki won the toss and bowled first in the one-day clash. Jason Thommasen and Kent Currie each picked up three wickets but there were contributions from several opposition batsmen that led to a daunting score.

Chris Keech (54) was the only one to post a half century but Sunil Singh (45), Jason Martin (42) and Robbie Miller (41) also chipped in. At 141-6 and 238-8, it could have been a lot different.

However, Otorohanga made it to 300, all out in the 46th over.

The hosts' chase was led by a superb century from Douglas Bradley. He made 110, while Dean Busch hit 62 and Currie 39 as Kaipaki looked on track to chase down the big target when 270-5 after 43 overs. However, Otorohanga fought back to bowl them out in the last over for 295, with Leighton Parsons claiming 3-49 and Martin taking 2-37.

At Albert Park in Te Awamutu, the Indian Aroma Raiders rolled Tokoroa for 118, then got the runs in 33 overs but for the loss of nine wickets. Robin Sharma, after taking 2-22, scored 72.

At the Pirongia Rugby Ground, Pirongia dismissed Te Awamutu for 138, with Nick Cochrane (3-18 off eight overs) and Matthew Seabright (3-36 off 10) among the wickets. Andrew McPherson stroked 81 as the hosts won by six wickets.

At the Cambridge Square, Cambridge humiliated Waitete by nine wickets as Simon Dodds (5-14) and Brad Edmondson (4-16) bowled the visitors for just 30. aaron.goile@waikatotimes.co.nz