Hamilton Boys' win Dave Hoskin Trophy

An outstanding knock from Hamilton Boys' High School's Jake Gibson helped the HBHS Development side claim the Dave Hoskin Trophy in the Waikato secondary school cricket competition at the weekend.

In Saturday's second round of the competition, HBHS, playing at home, smashed their way to a four-wicket win over Matamata College to claim the silverware.

After posting a very good 277, led by Aidan O'Nelly's 92 (12 fours and a six), the visitors would have been confident of taking the honours, despite the very quick outfield meaning anything struck through the field was a certain boundary.

However, Gibson had other ideas.

He combined nicely with Soumil Singh to rebuild the innings, then began to hammer the ball to all parts of the ground.

Gibson went on to hit 25 fours and two sixes in a terrific knock of 160 not out, which got his team to victory by four wickets in only 38 overs.

St Paul's Collegiate are the only team that are two wins from two, after they belted St Peter's by 110 runs.

On their home turf, St Paul's batted first and were led by Dillon Kelliher's 34 and Joel Kosoof's unbeaten 31, though no-one was able to make a big contribution.

Lewi Hopkins and Sukraj Mahal each took three wickets apiece for St Peter's, as the hosts were bowled out for 214 in 48 overs.

In reply, the visitors, who were without captain and key batsman Tim Seifert due to his Waikato Valley representative duties, ended up not getting anywhere near the target.

Guy Wilkins picked up three wickets and Josh Malpas, Scott Finlayson and Bede Higgins shared two apiece, with St Peter's rolled for 104 in the 40th over.

In the other match, hosts Cambridge High were humiliated by St John's College, going down by 178 runs.

St John's scored at a rapid rate throughout their innings. However some rash shots cost them several of their wickets.

Matthew Cooper top scored with 74 and St John's got to 213 but were all out in 27 overs, with Josh West picking up three wickets.

In reply Cambridge had no answers to the opening attack of Connor Clarke and Joe Tourelle, who claimed six and three wickets respectively as the hosts slumped to 35 all out.


Points: St Paul's 8, St Peter's 5, St John's 5, Matamata 5, HBHS Dev 5, Cambridge 2.

Waikato Times