Waikato recapture crown

17:00, Apr 30 2013

Waikato broke a 12-year drought to recapture the New Zealand Pony Club Association eventing championship in Hastings on Sunday.

The team of Loran Mathis (riding Flintoff), Dayna Fox (LV Little Chief), MacKenzie Belfield (All in Time), Stormy Harris (Irish Foxtrot), Nikki Smart (Classic Ransom) and Jessica Woods (Defies Logic) took top spot, with Otago-Southland second and Bay of Plenty third of the 13 regions.

Three of the Waikato side were competing in the three-day competition for the first time.

Fourth-placed Canterbury won the David Jones Trophy for the dressage phase, with Waikato placing third, before they managed to fight back in the cross-country and showjumping phases, with limited jump and time penalties earning them the overall honours.

Mathis was the standout rider, earning the least penalty points, while she also won the individual DC (16 years) section.

She was fifth in dressage and third in the cross-country before a perfect showjumping round saw her claim the title which she had won with Flintoff once before.

Waikato Area Pony Club will host the championship next year at the Kihikihi Domain.