Waikato hosting northern sevens

16:00, Dec 06 2013

Waikato Rugby Union will host this year's Northern Region Sevens Tournament at Waikato Stadium next Saturday with nine spots at the national tournament up for grabs.

The top five men's teams and top four women's teams from the Northern Region Tournament will qualify for the National Sevens Tournament, to be held from January 11-12 at Rotorua International Stadium.

The Bay of Plenty men's team has automatic qualification to the national tournament as the host union.

Eight men's teams and six women's teams throughout the Northern Region have entered next weekend's tournament.

The day will feature 34 games of pool play and finals over both the men's and women's divisions, with 23 of the games to be played at Waikato Stadium and the remaining 11 matches to be played across the road at Fraser-Tech's Mill St ground.

Games get underway at 10.10am with the first of the finals kicking off at 4.30pm.


''We are excited to be hosting this tournament and it is awesome that we are able to use the magnificent facilities of Waikato Stadium for the day,'' Waikato Rugby Union tournament organiser Bill Heslop said.

''With sevens rugby becoming increasingly popular and more competitive in recent seasons, and the profile of the sport continuing to grow for both men and women, we are hoping for a good turnout and a successful event.''

Entry into Waikato Stadium for the day is free. Spectators will be able to enter the ground through Gate 3 and stadium food and beverages will be on sale.


Men: Northland, North Harbour, Auckland, Counties Manukau, Thames Valley, Bay of Plenty, Waikato, Waikato Harlequins.

Women: Northland, North Harbour, Auckland, Counties Manukau, Bay of Plenty, Waikato.

Waikato Times