Scott Kuggeleijn takes top ND award

17:00, Apr 10 2014
Scott Kuggeleijn
STRIKE POWER: Scott Kuggeleijn in action for Northern Districts.

Scott Kuggeleijn capped his return season with Northern Districts when named their cricketer of the year at an awards function in Hamilton last night.

Kuggeleijn, 22, previously played for Wellington for two seasons but in his first season back in Hamilton, where he was born and raised, brought big dividends.

Those dividends came at SkyCity Northern Knights' 26th annual awards event at SkyCity Hamilton last night.

Kuggeleijn was not only named bowler of the year, having taken 58 wickets across all three formats of the game - Twenty20, one-day and Plunket Shield, but also cricketer of the year as the most outstanding player in domestic competitions this season.

In addition to his wickets Kuggeleijn also played a number of match-winning innings for the Knights, most of them requiring quick runs off relatively few deliveries.

The Knights' season highlight was winning the HRV Twenty20 and booking their flights to the Champions League in India. Kuggeleijn played a pivotal role in winning that final with 22 not out off just seven deliveries.

Brent Arnel and Graeme Aldridge have dominated the bowler of the year awards for ND in recent seasons but Kuggeleijn changed all that with his 29 Plunket Shield wickets, edging out Aldridge (25), 22 Ford Trophy wickets and seven Twenty20 wickets.

New Zealand representative Nicola Browne won the Northern Districts women's cricketer of the year award as easily the Spirit's top run-scorer with 540 runs and the second most wickets (12) behind Felicity Leydon-Davis (14).

Browne averaged 68 in the one-day games and was the competition's second highest run scorer, while also taking eight catches for the Spirit.

Black Caps wicketkeeper BJ Watling won the ND fielder of the year award with 32 catches and five stumpings, while Daniel Flynn was a clear winner of the batsman of the year award.

Flynn scored the most runs for the Knights in Twenty20 (278) and Plunket Shield (775), as well as the second most in one-dayers (340) behind Watling.

Joe Carter won the ND young cricketer of the year award with an impressive debut season with the bat.

He played every Plunket Shield game and amassed 674 runs at an average of 44, while playing seven one-day games for another 133 runs.


Northern Districts 26th annual awards:

ND Cricketer of the Year: Scott Kuggeleijn.

ND Women's Cricketer of the Year: Nicola Browne.

ND Bowler of the Year: Scott Kuggeleijn.

ND Fielder of the Year: BJ Watling.

ND Batsman of the Year: Daniel Flynn.

ND Young Cricketer of the Year: Joe Carter.

Eric Petrie Cup (Northern Districts club championship): Pukekohe Metro.

Basil McBurney Trophy (ND district development team competition): Hamilton.

Women's District Association Championship Cup: Waikato Valley.

Brian Dunning Cup (men's one-day championship): Hamilton.

Fergus Hickey Rosebowl: Northland.

District Association Player of the Year: Josh Bates (Poverty Bay).

ND Men's A Team Player of the Year: Mitchell Santner.

McCaw Lewis Maori Player of the Year: Josh Bates.

Northern Spirit Outstanding Performance Award: Brooke Kirkbride.

Umpire of the Year Award: Ross Kneebone (Northland).

Allan McBridge Trophy (services to junior cricket): Lyn Govenlock (Te Puke).

Service to Cricket: Joe Stoupe (Counties Manukau).

NZ Cricket Service to Cricket Award: Peter Bennett (Morrinsville).


Fairfax Media