BREAKING NEWS
Kiwi, Aussie hostages released by Nigerian kidnappers ... Read more
Close

Plane slides off runway in big freeze

Last updated 06:13 06/01/2014

Relevant offers

Americas

Fast-moving 'ferocious' California wildfire kills two, destroys homes and vehicles Two dead, many hurt in US shooting at Texas dance studio West Virginia death toll at 23 in deadliest US flooding of 2016 WATCH: US murder suspect tries to snatch cop's gun inside interview room Devotees of US motivational speaker burned after walking on hot coals Danielle McLaughlin: 'Fireworks over gun control' Brexit stuns investors, wipes US$3 trillion off stocks US burglars arrested after flaunting haul in Facebook video Firefighters injured, dozens of homes destroyed in California wildfire US President Barack Obama says UK relationship endures despite Brexit

A plane has skidded off a runway at New York's John F. Kennedy International Airport after landing and slid into snow.

No injuries were reported.

The Bombardier CRJ jet, coming from Toronto, landed at 8am EST (2am NZT) and was turning off the runway onto a taxiway when it slid in slippery conditions, said Federal Aviation Administration spokeswoman Kathleen Bergen.

An official at the Port Authority of New York & New Jersey, the agency that runs the airport, said 35 passengers were aboard the Delta Connection flight.

New York City was hit on Friday (Saturday NZT) by the first severe winter storm of 2014 and was still in the grip of sub-freezing weather overnight, when the incident occurred. Freezing rain is forecast for later in the day.

The airport was closed for about two hours, the FAA said. Flight operations resumed sometime after 10am EST (4am NZT). The FAA said it was investigating the incident.

The aircraft was flown by Endeavor Air.

Ad Feedback

- Reuters

Special offers

Featured Promotions

Sponsored Content