Seventeen nominations for Denby Ward by-election

Jayne Golightly has not applied for re-election to the Denby Ward.

Jayne Golightly has not applied for re-election to the Denby Ward.

Nominations closed at noon today for the Whangarei District Council Denby Ward by-election.

Seventeen people intend to stand for the position which became available when then councillor Jayne Golightly resigned early last month following the revelation she was not a New Zealand citizen.

Those nominated are; Geoff Abbott (Independent), Gavin Benney, Kathryn Darroch, Robert DIamond, Haydn Edmonds, Mike Henwood, Joby Hopa, Matt Keene, Chris Leitch, Huhana Lyndon, Kevin Newton (Independent), Hayward Norman, Yvette Poingdestre, Greg Shipton (Independent), Des Wallace, Merv Williams and Vanessa Wilson.

The resignation, less than a year into Golightly's tenure, forced the by-election which will be held on December 7, at a cost of about $35,000.

At the time of her resignation Golightly said she had been unaware she was not a New Zealand citizen.

She said she had since applied for citizenship and was hoping to get it fast tracked so she could stand in the by-election.

A complaint has since been lodged with the police by the electoral office.

Electoral officer Dale Ofsoske says legislation required him to forward to the police any material that caused him to believe an electoral offence has been committed. He says it was the first time on his 30 years of conducting elections that this situation has arisen.

At time of print Golightly had not responded to Whangarei Leader emails asking if she had obtained her citizenship and whether she had still been intending to stand for election.

A postal ballot of the Denby Ward electors will commence on November 15 with the delivery of voting documents.

Ad Feedback

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered to the Whangarei District Council, Forum North, Rust Avenue, during normal office hours between November 15 and noon on December 7.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector up to and including December 6 – the day before the close of voting.

For more information contact the Electoral Office, Whangarei District Council on 0800 922 822.


 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback