Nominations open for Nelson Sports Awards

Liam Malone was named Sportsperson of the Year at the 2016 Nelson Sports Awards.

Liam Malone was named Sportsperson of the Year at the 2016 Nelson Sports Awards.

Nominations are now open for this year's Nelson Sports Awards, with clubs and individuals urged to nominate sportspeople who have performed with distinction in their chosen sport over the past year.

Last year Paralympic Games gold medallist Liam Malone won the coveted Sportsperson of the Year title, although a new winner is expected to be crowned in 2017.

This year the awards ceremony and dinner which will be held at the Rutherford Hotel on November 25 and promoters Sport Tasman are promising a gala evening given it is the 50th year of the event.

Sport Tasman events manager Rita Merriman encouraged sporting organisations and individuals to cast their net far and wide and get their nominations – which close on October 11 - in early to give the judges plenty of tough choices.

The qualifying period for performances by nominees is October 11, 2016 to October 11 this year.

Merriman said the awards evening will again feature a high profile guest speaker, to be announced later this month, a three-course meal and evening entertainment.

In the past 10 years the sportsperson of the year award has been shared among three lawn bowlers, two rugby players, a rower, a cyclist, an adventure racing team, a Paralympics runner and a mountainbiker.

Early favourites for this year's event include Tour of California winning cyclist George Bennett and world champion bowler Shannon McIlroy.

To nominate someone and to view the entry criteria go to

Ad Feedback

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback