Elliot Dixon named Stag of the Year at Rugby Southland awards evening

No 8 Elliot Dixon has been named the Southland Stags' 2017 player of the year at the awards evening.
Kerry Marshall

No 8 Elliot Dixon has been named the Southland Stags' 2017 player of the year at the awards evening.

Elliot Dixon has been named as the Southland Stags' 2017 player of the year.

The former All Black claimed the award at the Rugby Southland awards evening at Rugby Park on Wednesday night.

Rugby Southland traditionally has held their end of season awards days after the final game but this season has opted to hold it days before the final game against Otago in Dunedin on Saturday.

Dixon has missed three games this season through injury, and also had his time cut short in another when he was shown a red card against Bay of Plenty.

Where will the money come from?
Dixon believes wholesale coaching changes would be silly
Dixon to undergo surgery on torn bicep
James Wilson set to join Bath


However, the No 8 still had enough time to emerge as Southland's best player in 2017.

He often provided Southland with their only real threat in regard to offering up go forward ball on attack and he sits just behind fellow loose forward Phil Halder for tackles made by a Southland player this season.

Dixon had his season cut short when he tore his bicep playing against Manawatu and underwent surgery on Tuesday.

There hasn't been a lot celebrate in a nightmare 2017 season where they have lost all nine games and most of them by big margins.

Ad Feedback

However, Halder's progression has been one of the shining lights in a dark campaign and that was recognised at the 2017 awards evening.

Halder was named the Southland Supporters Club player of the year and also picked up the Player's Player award which is voted by the players.

The flanker added the Most Improved Forward to his collection of awards with Halder having his best provincial season since joining the Stags squad in 2015.

Aleki Morris was named as the Most Improved Back after being shifted from the midfield to the wing this season.

Midfielder Matt Johnson, who is the only player to have started all nine games this season, was named as the Stags' Rookie of the Year.



Stags Awards

Contribution Award: Guy Millar

Rookie of the Year: Matt Johnson

Most Improved Back: Aleki Morris

Most Improved Forward: Phil Halder

Best Dressed: Ryan Tongia

NZRPA/Westpac Personal Development Award: Guy Millar

Player's Player: Phil Halder

Stag of the Year: Elliot Dixon

Southland Supporters Club Awards

Under 48kg Player of the Year:  Rico Fisher

Under 65kg Player of the Year: Josh Evans

Under 13 Player of the Year: Ngarimu Paraki

Under 14 Player of the Year:  Kaea Nikora-Balloch

Jonty Carran Trophy (Most Promising Player)​: Finn Hurley

Under 16 player of the year: Jakob Harrex

Bruce Robertson Memorial Cup: (Under 18 player of the Year): Fraser Ditchfield 

Under 19 Player of The Year: Jaya More

Most Improved Referee: Louise Moore

Judy Holland Trophy (Secondary School Girls Most Promising Player): Emma Dermody

Active Alarm Services Cup (Secondary School Girls): Jessica Dermody

Southland Country Player Of The Year: Bill Christie

Southland B Player of the Year: Sam Stewart

PGG Wrightson Division 1 Player Of The Year: Brad Whyte (Edendale)

Bill Foster Trophy (Most Improved Club Team: Mossburn Pirates

Most Promising Men's Player: Flynn Thomas

Southland Supporters Club Player Of The Year: Phil Halder

 - Stuff

Ad Feedback
special offers
Ad Feedback